

Sent by Email

March 3, 2025

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau Prime Minister of Canada 80 Wellington Street, Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2 pm@pm.gc.ca The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Legislative Building, Queen's Park Room 281 Toronto, ON M7A 1A1 <u>premier@ontario.ca</u>

Subject: Sharing of Provincial Land Transfer Tax and GST with Municipalities for Sustainable Infrastructure

The Council of The Corporation of the City of Pickering considered the above matter at a Meeting held on February 24, 2025 and adopted the following resolution:

WHEREAS the Province of Ontario collects substantial revenue from the application of the Provincial Land Transfer Tax from the sale of properties, including those in Pickering and across the province, generating significant revenue;

And Whereas the Land Transfer Tax (LTT) on property transactions is not directly shared with municipalities, while the majority of infrastructure and services provided to homeowners, is the responsibility of municipalities;

And Whereas Municipalities, including the City of Pickering, do not receive a share of the Provincial Land Transfer Tax;

And Whereas the Federal Government collects the Goods and Services Tax (GST) on property transactions, a portion of which could be directed to municipalities to address local infrastructure needs;

And Whereas redistributing a portion of the existing Provincial Land Transfer Tax and the existing GST to municipalities would provide a predictable and sustainable source of funding for local infrastructure projects without creating a new tax burden on residents or homebuyers;

And Whereas a redistribution of a portion of the existing Land Transfer Tax and GST would allow municipalities to better plan and invest in long-term infrastructure, supporting local economic growth and improving the quality of life for the residents;

And Whereas Municipalities, including the City of Pickering, do not receive a share of the Provincial Land Transfer Tax;

Now therefore be it resolved that the Council of The Corporation of the City of Pickering directs through the Office of the Chief Administrative Officer:

- 1. That the Provincial Government be requested to share a portion of the existing collected Provincial Land Transfer Tax with single and lower tier municipalities;
- 2. That the Federal Government be requested to allocate to municipalities a percentage to the GST Collected on property sales;
- 3. That this redistribution of the Land Transfer Tax and GST be structured to provide a predictable and sustainable funding to municipalities, allowing for better long-term planning and investment in the infrastructure projects that benefit local communities, thus ensuring that local governments receive a fair share of the revenue to address critical infrastructure needs;
- 4. That the Council of The Corporation of the City of Pickering endorse the Town of Aurora's Council Resolution of November 26, 2024 Member Motion 8.9.1 – Mayor Mrakas, regarding Request the Redistribution of the Provincial Land transfer Tax and GST to Municipalities for Sustainable Infrastructure Funding;
- That a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Prime Minister of Canada, the Minister of Finance of Canada, the Premier of Ontario, the Minister of Finance of Ontario, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, local Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs), in the Region of Durham; and,
- That a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Town of Aurora, all Municipalities in the Region of Durham, the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM), and the Association of Municipalities (AMO) for their endorsement and advocacy.

Should you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned at 905.420.4660, extension 2019.

Yours truly

Carel

Susan Cassel

City Clerk

SC:am

Copy: The Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Finance of Canada The Hon. Peter Bethlenfalvy, Minister of Finance of Ontario The Hon. Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing The Hon. Mark Holland, MP Ajax Ryan Turnbull, MP Whitby Colin Carrie, MP Oshawa Jamil Jivani, MP Durham Jamie Schmale, MP Haliburton—Kawartha Lakes—Brock Jennifer O'Connell, MP Pickering Uxbridge Robert Cerjanec, MPP Ajax Lorne Coe, MPP Whitby Jennifer French, MPP Oshawa Todd McCarthy, MPP Durham Laurie Scott, MPP Haliburton—Kawartha Lakes—Brock The Hon. Peter Bethlenfalvy, MPP Pickering Uxbridge Alexander Harras, Regional Clerk, The Regional Municipality of Durham Michael de Rond, Clerk, Town of Aurora Jaclyn Grossi, Clerk, Town of Ajax; June Gallagher, Municipal Clerk, Municipality of Clarington; Chris Harris, Clerk, Town of Whitby; Fernando Lamanna, Clerk, Township of Brock; Debbie Leroux, Clerk, Township of Uxbridge; Mary Medeiros, City Clerk, City of Oshawa; Blair Labelle, Clerk, Township of Scugog; Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO)

Chief Administrative Officer