THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF BROCK

BY-LAW NUMBER 3243-2024

BEING A BY-LAW TO APPOINT MEMBERS TO THE TOWNSHIP OF BROCK PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD

WHEREAS section 9 of the *Public Libraries Act,* R.S.O 1990, c. P.44 and amendment thereto, provides that a public library board shall be composed of at least five members appointed by the municipal council;

AND WHEREAS section 15 of the *Public Libraries Act,* R.S.O. 1990, c. P.44. and amendments thereto, provides that a board shall appoint a chief executive officer;

AND WHEREAS the Brock Public Library Board has appointed a chief executive officer under the provisions of the *Public Libraries Act,* R.S.O. 1990, c. P.44;

AND WHEREAS it is deemed expedient to appoint members to the Township of Brock Public Library Board and to authorize the chief executive officer appointed under the provisions of the *Public Libraries Act* to call the first meeting of the board in each new term;

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Brock hereby appoint the following members to act for the Township of Brock Public Library Board:

- David Bauer
- Janice Teel
- Monique Bonk
- Negin Khorasani
- Sherrey Helleman
- Bo Enns
- Lyndsay Irvine
- Justin Hackett
- Lynn Campbell (Council Liaison); and

THAT a board member shall hold office for a term concurrent with the term of the appointing council, or until a successor is appointed, and may be reappointed for one or more terms; and

THAT the Chief Executive Officer appointed under the provisions of the *Public Libraries Act* shall call the first meeting of the board in each new term; and

THAT By-law 3162-2022 be and the same is hereby repealed, and

THAT this By-law shall come into force and effect of the date of its enactment.

Enacted and passed this 26th day of February, 2024.

Mayor Walter Schummer Clerk/Deputy CAO Fernando Lamanna